The active life of Japanese elders

The other day I went out jogging very early, around 6:15 am. At the corner of a park, I came across with a boy dragging himself to somewhere I didn’t know. “Where would a 6 years old boy go alone this early?” I asked myself.

By the time I arrived to be in front of the park, I was shocked to see more than 50 Japanese people rhythmically exercising together, the boy included.

The sense of community overwhelmed me, and the fact that they were of different ages was inspiring.

 

Later I found out that this is called Radio Taiso, a sequence of exercise broadcasted on the radio that all Japanese know because they do it since their childhood at school.

 

And then we wonder why Japanese people live so long!

 

I would love to hear from you. =)

