An Anti-Social Media Manifesto

I refuse to be part of the social experiment Facebook is running on us without our consent.

I refuse to be brainwashed even if it confirms my biases of any kind.

I refuse to expose my life for free so companies can chase me to sell me things I don’t need.

I refuse to pretend I can understand and be understood in 180 characters.

I refuse to believe that everybody is as happy and beautiful as they seem to after cherry picking their best moments and looks.

I refuse to pretend that my life is all success, especially professional success.

I refuse to limit friendship to giving likes here and there.

I refuse to rely my self-esteem on the praise of my looks.

I refuse to pretend that privacy doesn’t matter.

I refuse to be willingly monitored 24/7.

I refuse to be a couch activist.

But most of all, I refuse to be part of the madness the world has become.

I’ll live a real life, with few real friends, having conversations longer than 180 characters, to strive for growth rather than for praise.

 

I would love to hear from you. =)

